The Short Short

   I knocked on his door.

   It took him a while to walk to the door and before unlocking, “Who are you?” he said.

   “I thought you would remember me.” I answered, still tapping on the door with my fingers. “You have something that belongs to me and I want it back.”

   “Come on man,” he said anxiously, “you got to give me some more time–”

   “Your time is over.”

   “No, no man, please, I need time…”

   “I’m sick of you trying to steal my stuff. After all you’ve stolen from me, now you’re trying to steal my time?” I chuckled sarcastically. “You’ve made your joke a long time ago. This ain’t funny anymore.”

   “Look… I know I’ve made you wait for so long but… Look, I don’t need it anymore, but my sister, my sister–”

   “I don’t care about your sister or anything.” I interrupted. “Give me what I want.”

   He paused and didn’t make a sound.

   “Open the door.” I ordered with a cold voice.

   I heard his steps, going inside the house. It wasn’t long before I heard the noise of a window opening.

   “Get back here you horder!” I screamed and I ran to his window.

   “I’m sorry man…” he shouted. “I’m sorry to see you become such a selfish monster!”

   “Then you shouldn’t have made me become one!” I screamed and I grabbed his collar.

   “Give it to me.” I said with hate in my voice.

   “Man, you’ve gone crazy…”

   “I know you have it on you. Give it to me now, or I’ll do anything to take it from you. I’ll beat the hell out of you if you don’t stop acting like a dishonest horder!”

   He freed himself from my hands and took a deep breath. “Curse you man! Curse you! What kind of a friend are you?”

   “I’M THE KIND OF A FRIEND WHO WANTS HIS LORD OF THE RINGS BOOK BACK AFTER SEVEN MONTHS!”

   “Geez.” He grabbed the book from his jacket and gave it to me–almost threw it to me. “Here you go you sick brat. Do you think it is easy to read this book in such a short while?”

   “First of all, seven months is not a short while and everyone who is literate and with an IQ higher than 40 should be able to read this book in less than seven months.” I sighed madly. “And that ‘my sister needs it’ excuse was really lame. And running out of the window? What’s wrong with–”

   “JUST SHUT UP!” he shouted. “You ruined everything! I was trying to prepare you a birthday surprise by making a game based on your favorite novel and you were to be the main character! I needed the book to make sure everything was going on track but now you’ve ruined everything!”

   I looked at him and I felt guilty for being mad at him.

   “You planned that all for me bro?”

   “Of course bro! You’re my best bro! I love you more than I love Shrek!”

   “Well, I don’t know what to feel about that last sentence but thanks, man. I love you too.”

   We bro fisted and I went back to the house, while his mother chastised him about the window he broke by forcing it too much.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *